• 森林管理

    Bellevue 的森林管理計劃管理大約 2,000 英畝的公園和公共原住民生長保護區 (Native Growth Protection Area, NGPA) 土地上的自然資源,從環境敏感地的溪流廊道和濕地到森林開放空間。 這些區域提供各種各樣的好處,提高 Bellevue 的生活品質。 維護和管理這些寶貴資源對於本社區的未來至關重要,我們竭盡心力以技能和勤奮來管理這些自然資源。

    Image of forest trail

    有效管理這些自然資源始於清查財產資產。 地理資訊系統 (Geographical Information System, GIS) 技術、地形和法律調查以及現場檢查相結合,以評估每個場所的條件。 然後,我們使用森林增強和復育技術,協助自然森林演替過程,以改善森林健康和生態系統狀況。 我們的工作包括疏伐、個別砍伐樹木、有害雜草管理、溪流生物工程以及種植本地樹木和灌木等活動。

    森林管理計劃目標

    • •    確保公民的安全——對公園訪客或鄰近財產構成風險的死/壞/病樹將被移除。
      •    改善森林條件——
      森林由多樣的物種和年齡組成時最為健康。 Bellevue 透過種植和疏伐實現此目標。
      •    保護和改善野生動物棲息地——
      樹木是我們城市生態系統的重要組成部分,為當地野生動物提供食物和棲息地。
      •    提供娛樂機會——
      森林提供適用各種戶外娛樂活動的機會。 健康的森林是度過一天的好地方!
      •    緩衝土地使用——
      保留和種植樹木和灌木以備單獨開發。
      •    保護水質——
      我們管理植被以穩定土壤和斜坡,從而減少雨水徑流及其相關的侵蝕。

    管理與維護

    雖然每個林地都是獨一無二的,但有一些常見的管理活動,包括:
    • •    種植樹木、灌木和地被植物
      •    有毒植被管理
      •    修剪、疏伐和移除樹木
      •    財產邊界劃定和檢查
      •    殘碎清理

    復育專案在 Bellevue 公園系統內相當常見。 工作正在進行中時,會有幾個月甚至幾年期間,這些地區可能看起來醜陋,您可能會注意到堆積的植被、裸露的土壤、隱藏的材料、臨時灌溉系統和侵蝕控制設備。 這些不自然的條件是暫時的,是森林管理人員實現增強目標的必要條件。 如果您對特定專案有任何疑問或疑慮,請隨時與我們連絡。 

    瞭解我們在 Bellevue 森林中管理的部分有毒雜草:
    https://www.nwcb.wa.gov/

    Bellevue 公園系統自然資源部志工:https://bellevuewa.gov/volunteering/environmental-stewardship

Forest Management

Bellevue’s Forest Management Program stewards natural resources located on approximately 2,000 acres of park and public Native Growth Protection Area (NGPA) land – ranging from environmentally-sensitive stream corridors and wetlands to forested open space. These areas provide a wide variety of benefits that enhance the quality of life in Bellevue. The maintenance and management of these valuable resources are essential to the future of our community, and we strive to manage them with skill and diligence.

Image of forest trail

The effective management of these natural resources begins with an inventory of property assets. Geographical Information System (GIS) technology, topographic and legal surveys, and on-site inspections are combined to evaluate the conditions at each site. We then use enhancement and restoration techniques that assist the natural successional process to improve forest health and ecosystem condition. Our work involves activities such as thinning, individual tree removals, noxious weed management, stream bioengineering, and planting native trees and shrubs.

Forest Management Program Objectives

  • Ensure the safety of citizens – Dead, damaged and diseased trees that pose a risk to park guests or neighboring properties are removed.
  • Improve forest condition – A forest is most healthy when it is composed of a variety of species and ages. Bellevue plants and thins to achieve this objective.
  • Protect and enhance wildlife habitat – Trees are a vital component of our urban ecosystem, providing food and habitat for local wildlife.
  • Provide recreational opportunities – Forests provide opportunities for a wide variety of outdoor recreation activities. Healthy forests make for a great place to spend the day!
  • Buffer land uses – Trees and shrubs are retained and planted to separate development.
  • Protect water quality - We manage vegetation to stabilize soils and slopes, which reduces stormwater runoff and its associated erosion.

Management & Maintenance

While each forested site is unique, there are some common management activities that include:
  • Planting trees, shrubs and groundcovers
  • Management of noxious vegetation
  • Tree pruning, thinning and removals
  • Property boundary delineation and inspection
  • Debris cleanup

Restoration projects are common within the Bellevue Park System. These areas can look unsightly for months or even years while work is underway – you may notice piled vegetation, bare soil, cached materials, temporary irrigation systems and erosion control equipment. These unnatural conditions are temporary, and are necessary for forest managers to achieve enhancement objectives. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or concerns about a particular project.

Learn more about some of the noxious weeds that we manage in Bellevue's forests: https://www.nwcb.wa.gov/

Volunteer in the Bellevue Park System with the Natural Resource Division: https://bellevuewa.gov/volunteering/environmental-stewardship