• Youth Link announces leadership award winners

    Published May 17 2019

    Header Image
    Aerial Skyline Banner.jpg

    To celebrate Bellevue Youth Link’s 29th year of providing nationally recognized programs and services for Bellevue teens, Youth Link requested nominations of children and teens for their positive influence in the community.

    The following young people will be honored at the annual Community Leadership Awards celebration on Wednesday, May 29, 6:30-8 p.m., at City Hall, 450 110th Ave. NE.

    Advocacy for Cultural & Heritage Pride: Ren Watanabe, International School
    Advocacy for Social Justice – Individual: Jay Robles, Big Picture School
    Advocacy for Social Justice – Group: Bending the Arc, Bellevue High School
    Advocacy for Education: Andrea Liao, Interlake High School
    Advocacy for Family Support: Luis Rodriguez, Interlake High School
    Advocacy for Sports and Recreation: Kevin Powell, Sherwood Forest Elementary School
    Advocacy for Inclusivity and Allyship: Leonardo Salas, Ramos Interlake High School
    Advocacy for Inclusivity and Allyship: Michelle Egli, Bellevue High School
    Environmental Champion: Victoria Christopher, Bellevue High School
    Excellence in Youth Arts: Arjan Dillon, International School
    Outstanding Creative and Innovative Thinker: Sakhi Bhandaru, International School
    Outstanding Elementary School Student: Akilah Kayanda, Sherwood Forest Elementary School
    Outstanding Middle School Student: Harrison Prow, Chinook Middle School
    Outstanding High School Student: Raia Karmali, Newport High School
    Outstanding Youth Volunteer: Guadalupe Aliseda-Canton, Newport High School
    Unsung Hero: Zain Bhatti, Sherwood Forest Elementary School
    Youth Link “Norm Maleng” Social Justice Award: Erik Mercado, Sammamish High School
    Youth Link Phil Kushlan Award: to be announced

    Youth Link will recognize all nominees in the evening’s program as well as its own volunteers. The Community Leadership Awards celebration is free and open to the public; however, seating is limited and requires an RSVP. The dessert reception will begin at 6:30 p.m.

    All winners, nominees and their guests are invited to attend the awards ceremony. Please RSVP with Youth Link by 5 p.m., Friday, May 24.